Grand River Academy Menu Apply to Grand River
Blog Request More Information

Grand River Academy Blog

Stay updated with current happenings at Grand River Academy. This blog also includes resources for families and friends of GRA.






AUSTINBURG, OH – June 4, 2014 – The Robert S. Morrison Lecture Center at Grand River Academy was filled with applause, and great pride, the evening of May 20, 2014.  GRA students, parents, faculty and staff joined together to celebrate the many accomplishments of GRA students – academically and athletically. 


Congratulations to the following students on their academic honors and awards of character:


Most Improved Student

Class of 2014                      Zach Riemenschneider & Colin Rinaldi

Class of 2015                      Taha Omar & Scott Sender

Class of 2016                      Liam Eagan         

Class of 2017                      Victorio Amoussou


Outstanding Student

Class of 2014                      Isaac Seger-Brown

Class of 2015                      Jon Butler

Class of 2016                      Johnn Cave

Class of 2017                      Nate Heslin


Outstanding International Student

Leo Zhang


Trustee Bowl

Awarded to the senior with the most distinguished record during his senior year

Isaac Seger-Brown


Carl B. Bauder Cup

Awarded to the student who excels in character, leadership and friendliness

Ben Triulzi


Headmaster’s Cup

Awarded to the student who best combines the attributes of scholar, athlete and gentleman

Eric Levaux


Watson & Jan Kallay Award

Awarded to the outstanding senior athlete

DJ Lewis


Cassidy-Schwartz Service Award

Awarded to the students who unselfishly and generously give of their time and effort in service to the Academy

Ben Triulzi


Scott Fisher Achievement Award

Awarded to a returning junior whose support of the Academy and whose service to his fellow students are exemplary

Rick He


George Armington, Jr. Memorial Plaque

Awarded to the senior who best personifies the philosophy of the Academy

Ben Triulzi


Gordon Diemer Award

Awarded to the freshman, sophomore or junior who exhibits a positive attitude and exemplary citizenship and who works to his fullest potential

Nate Heslin


The Nonneman Award

Awarded to the students who produce outstanding work for school publications in the areas of fiction, non-fiction, poetry, artwork or photography

Eric Levaux

Ben Triulzi


William H. Jeffery Fine Arts Award

Awarded to the student who has attended GRA for two years and excels in drama, art, music, photography or literature

Zach Riemenschneider


Dr. William M. Leseur Award

Awarded to the student whose citizenship is exceptional and who has excelled because of hard work

Elpidio Amoussou

Jared Cave


Grand River Academy also commends the following coaches and student athletes for their dedication, sportsmanship and athletic talents in Lacrosse, Baseball and Tennis:  



Mr. Michael O’Keefe

Mr. Stephen Sullivan  


First Year Letter Winners

Carl Behling

Ben Bershad

Nicholas Chen

Dmitry Chebakov

Avery Coslik

Pedro Fernandes

Jason Ginsberg

Billy Jordan

Michael Lamendola

Lucien Parr

Dylan Porter

John Richardson

Alex Schober

Pat Weferling


Multiple Year Letter Winners 

Jon Butler                            Second Year

Johnny Knapp                   Second Year

Eric Levaux                          Third Year


Special Awards

Michael Lamendola         Co-MVP; Defensive Player of the Year

Eric Levaux                          Co-MVP; Offensive Player of the Year

Avery Coslik                       Eagle Award

Dylan Porter                       Most Improved Player



Mr. Brian Ballentine

Mr. David Crowell


Certificates of Participation

Johnn Cave

Nate Heslin

Spencer Mandell

Jay Spak

Mike Stewart

Jay Yoon


First Year Letter Winners

Tony Carlucci

Jarred Hill 

Brian Kennedy

DJ Lewis

Teddy Lewis

Zach Riemenschneider


Multiple Year Letter Winners

Leo Goldman                     Second Year

Scott Sender                      Second Year

Gary Leslie                          Third Year

Billy Fanning                       Fourth Year


Special Awards

Leo Goldman                     Most Valuable Player

Johnn Cave                         Eagle Award

Tony Carlucci                      Batting Title – Best Hitter

Jarred Hill                            Golden Glove – Best Fielder



Mr. Thomas Polak

Mr. Dan Riddell


Certificates of Participation

Andrew Abdelmessih

Victorio Amoussou

Frank Fan

Dean Jiau

Andrew Lannen

Jack Liang

Vincent Ou

Will Potesta

Mark Wang

Glen Wang

Greyson Wang

James Zhang

Tim Zhang

James Zhao


First Year Letter Winners

Jared Cave

Allen Huang 

Jeff Li

Colin Rinaldi

Yao Yao

Leo Zhang


Multiple Year Letter Winners

Grant Huffman                 Second Year


Special Awards


Jared Cave                          Most Valuable Player

Yao Yao                                Eagle Award

Leo Zhang                           Eagle Award


Junior Varsity:

Andrew Abdelmessih    Eagle Award

Mark Wang                         Most Improved

James Zhao                        Most Improved


About Grand River Academy

Established in 1831, Grand River Academy is a private boarding school located in Austinburg, Ohio, that serves over 100 young men in grades 9-12, with a post-graduate option.  The faculty and staff continue to make strides in the school’s mission to educate the total young man – academically, socially and emotionally. The school offers small and intimate class sizes, individualized instruction and supportive faculty. Grand River Academy serves a unique and important niche - helping young men unlock and activate their full potential. 

Transitioning from Public to Private School
Choosing a Boarding School

Related Posts



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment